CIBSS is a DFG-funded Cluster of Excellence (EXC-2189) and faculty-bridging Central Research Institute of the University of Freiburg. The Cluster is governed according to statutes approved by the Senate of the University of Freiburg.

Major organisational bodies involved in the governance of CIBSS are the Speaker Team and the Steering Board. The advisory organs of CIBSS are the international Scientific Advisory Board and for university-internal matters the Integrative Board.

    The operations of CIBSS are led by the Speaker Team and are executed by the Management Team.

    The following thematic committees exist in CIBSS:

    • Equal Opportunity and Diversity Committee
    • Scientific Career Committee
    • Research Infrastructure Committee
    • Ethics, Safety and Security Committee
    • Teaching and Communication Committee


    Header image: © Mathilde Bessert-Nettelbeck / University of Freiburg